Today I mourn you

cry-eyes-sad-Favim.com-713982

Sunday, I received a phone call at 9.30 pm from my friend Oguedhi. It was a surprise call. Sylvia Oguedhi has never called me this late.

“Your friend has slept”, those words stung terribly.

Sylvia’s brother, whom I have never met, was an accidental friend. Sometime two years ago, I was a church administrator. I used to make the weekly church bulletin. I would call the people leading worship that Sunday, to ask for the songs they would like me to include in the bulletin.

About three times when she was leading worship, I happened to call her number and her brother picked. Her brother was also a worship leader at his church, so he was wondering who was asking him for songs.

Our friendship started from there. He would call just to check on his friend. Occasionally, he would goodwill texts.

Last year, Sylvia told me that her brother was diagnosed with cancer of the gum. His gums were swollen. It was really sad. I promised Sylvia to go visit her brother.

Then I had a lot of things going on, school, internship, Workstudy, problems with my landlord. I was overwhelmed. My will and heart were willing to visit, yet my circumstances were restrictive. Maybe I should have tried harder.

Two Sundays ago, I met Sylvia in church. She reminded me that my friend waited for my visit until he went. The thought that rushed through my mind was that he had died.

Before my explanations of why I did not honor my promise, she clarified that he went up-country and was recuperating well. His gums were back to normal. It was then that I said I was just overwhelmed during the time.

A week later, I was in bed, still recovering from a book hangover. I had just finished reading an interesting book. My phone rang and I looked at the caller Id. I usually don’t receive late phone calls. It was Oguedhi-Blessed one.

“I just called to tell you that your friend slept at 8.30 pm,” she said.

I woke up from the book hangover, and went to mourning a friend I had never met. My friend will be laid to rest on Tuesday next week.

Just as sad as this story is, what have you been putting off? Is it that walk in the park, or reaching out to someone. Please do it before it’s too late.

With love from,

Juls

Image credit

One thought on “Today I mourn you”

Leave a Reply

