Tribute to Pauline, a classmate & role model

Image credit: Facebook
Image credit: Facebook

Today I woke up feeling like I would rather just go back to bed. You know, just one of those days when you don’t feel up to nothing. Coming to work, i was half asleep in the mat. I ask myself, what the hell is wrong with me?

So I start with my usual work. Emails, blogs, social media, then I come across an update on Facebook with a familiar face.

Woke up to sad news that you are no longer with us, will sure remember you for your laughter, determination, controversial arguments and friendship. RIP Pauline Mwogoasige The Daystar University fraternity will forever miss you!

Wait a minute! I know that face. I’ve talked to her. We shared a maths class in Daystar University. Pauline was one of the women I admired from afar. I just never talked to her much. Come to think of it, I never talked much to most classmates, other than the usual- How are you ding? Which would automatically be followed by- I’m fine.

Today looking at that update, I felt there could have been more to learn from Pauline. She was an entrepreneur and a role model. That first time we talked, I learned as much. Come to think of it, it was my interest in graphic design that led to that conversation. She was the Public Relations Manager at Centrifugal Technologies Ltd, a graphics design and printing firm.

I feel I could have learnt more from her. Now she is gone. The lessons:

  1. God brings people your way to add value to your life- never take it for granted.
  2. Appreciate every breath you have and live life to the fullest.

Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might, for in the realm of the dead, where you are going, there is neither working nor planning nor knowledge nor wisdom- Ecclesiastes 9:10.

2 thoughts on “Tribute to Pauline, a classmate & role model”

Leave a Reply

