SHARING PIECES OF ME WITH THE PUBLIC

14 years into this walk, I still find myself asking this question- is it worth it? Just last week I was at a dilemma of whether to accept the invite to a local TV station or just decline it altogether. This was after the People Daily highlighted a feature story on my life.
Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind sharing my story. It is a way of reaching out to young people. The problem comes when as a Christian, I know that I am a new creation and the old is no more. There is power in the words we speak. No word is idle. With this in mind, I have been lately very wary of my confessions.
Even though my story is out there and uncle google can help you find it, there are just moments when you have to think critically about the spotlight. I do not want to own HIV because it is not mine. I am not living in denial- I am past that stage. I just do not want it to define me. There are very great things that can describe Juliet.
So I did some soul searching as I am used to. Then said I to Juliet- “You have written a memoir that is about to be published, you are passionate about helping young people and your ministry has to go on even though you are a new creation.”
Today at 7:20 am I was at K24 studios to talk to parents. The responses I got were so overwhelming and I know that age appropriate discussions on sex between parents and children will be taking place. I even got invited to talk to young people in a church, in two weeks. I am glad that today with God’s help I may have touched a number of lives positively.
It is my hope that better things are in the future because God tells me that He knows the plans he has for me. They are plans not to harm me, but to give me a future and a hope. (Jeremiah 29:11). I go home feeling fulfilled today, because I followed the small still voice that speaks within. I look forward to a good birthday on Friday because I am confident that I will see the day.
Thank you for watching.

Juliet H. Amor

Leave a Reply

